Mary Mac’s Tea Room

So I start with my most recent trip to Atlanta and the wonderful Southern comfort cuisine they have to offer.  We start with Mary Mac’s Tea Room.  As we entered the front we were greeted by a packed house.  The wait wasn’t too bad, about 30 minutes on this Saturday night.  I hear the wait can be much longer but I guess we happened to catch it at the right time because when we left it was packed inside and outside the door.  At first glance you wouldn’t know that Mary Mac’s could seat more than 50 people but as our server took us through different rooms and hallways we were surprised at how big it actually was.  Along with our menu we were given an order sheet.  I like this order sheet as it almost ensures the correct order (unless you have horrible writing.)

Let’s start off with the rolls brought to the table. The cornbread was good, the yeast rolls were tasty, but the cinnamon rolls, OMG!  Now I am used to cinnamon rolls smothered in cream frosting, a la Cinnabon, but Mary Mac’s cinnamon rolls blew anything I’ve ever had out of the water.  No frosting necessary.  We raved about it so much to our server that he snuck us an extra 7 rolls to go that we promptly ate when we got back to the hotel.  Definitely experiencing cinnamon roll withdrawal.  My wife, Karen, also ordered the deviled eggs which she said were delicious.

On to the main course! Per the suggestion of our server, I ordered the chicken fired chicken with a side of mac and cheese and rice and gravy.  I love a good chicken fried chicken and this was no exception.  It was crispy on the outside and tender and moist on the inside.  The gravy made it all the better.  As for the sides, my mac and cheese was the winner.  Creamy and cheesy and so full of flavor.  My wife ordered the fried chicken which is a dish they are known for and it also did not disappoint.  Much like the chicken fried chicken, their drumsticks were crispy and juicy.

Midway through our meal, our server stops by to check in on us and learns that we are from out of town.  He promptly says that he will bring us a sampling of some of their other sides and here is what was brought to us: potato salad, creamed corn, sweet potato souffle, and tomato pie.  I would order any of these with my meal but I have to say that the tomato pie was the most surprising.   I admit that I was skeptical at first but when I tried it, I was actually blown away by it.  I don’t know if I can give it description justice but the best way I can describe it is a lasagna pie.

Can’t come to Georgia without some peach cobbler.  Our server was so kind as to make it a la mode.  Yummy as can be.

All in all, probably my favorite stop in Atlanta.  The service was superb, our server definitely rocked it.  Loved this place so much that I bought their cookbook to hopefully recreate their dishes at home.  It has those cinnamon rolls in it so that will probably be my first attempt.  If you would like a copy, go here.

Check out Mary Mac’s website here

Mary Mac’s Tea Room
224 Ponce De Leon Ave NE
Atlanta, GA 30308

Mary Mac's Tea Room on Urbanspoon

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers

