Ramen Dojo

Karen and I were up north for a wedding.  Before leaving San Mateo we were meeting up with my cousin and my goddaughter for lunch.  We had originally planned to go to the Ramen Festival in San Francisco but it was a little further out and we figured it might be crowded so we decided on a Ramen Dojo in San Mateo.  Good reviews on Yelp so here we went. 

My cousins got there before us and informed us that they were in line.  As we drove by looking for parking we gazed upon a rather substantial line that wrapped around the corner of the block.  Thought that was a pretty good sign.  The little shop only accommodates 24 (I think?) so it may take a while to get in there.  The good thing is that while you are waiting in line and since they already take your names down they will come out and take your pre-order so that when you go in you are ready to go in 5 minutes.  That is a great idea and a good way to manage a long line with small space.  Our wait itself was about 2 hours.

ramen dojo

When you come in to sit down, you have chalkboards to show you the way to your ramen adventure.  You have three choices of broth and every order comes with roasted pork, fried garlic, mushroom, chives, and quail egg.  You can also get extra toppings there on the right and choose your spice level.

ramen dojo2

Here is my order of garlic pork flavor broth mild spicy.  Now I felt that the mild spice was actually quite spicy and my cousin got the regular spicy which was kinda on fire for her.  The broth had good flavor and the pork was delicious.  I liked the kikurage mushroom as well.  I definitely enjoyed the ramen but the 2 hour wait kind of killed it for me.  I don’t think it was worth the 2 hours in line.  Maybe an hour.  But not two.  And I’m not saying that I didn’t like it.  I did.  I just wasn’t totally in love with it.  I would come back if the line wasn’t long but there seem to be many ramen joints in town and I would have to try the others out to see what reigns supreme.  There was another ramen place down the street that also had a line as long as Ramen Dojo.  So with that said, if you are in the neighborhood, try this place out and see for yourself.

Ramen Dojo
805 South B St.
San Mateo, CA 94401

Ramen Dojo on Urbanspoon

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 165 other followers

